The ROSL Western Australia (WA) Branch has long supported the aims of the organisation by taking a keen interest in the musical education of young people. 

Through their fundraising efforts and donations from very generous members, the branch has donated some $32,000 in prizes and scholarships to the Western Australian Academy of Performing Arts this year.In addition, over the last five years, the WA Branch, again through the huge generosity of a few members, have donated $197,000 to the Universiry of Western Australia's Conservatorium of Music for prizes and a Visiting Artists in Residence Program. The WA Branch also sponsors an Annual Singing Competion for The Perth Royal School of Music Club. The 3 prizes total $4,000.

These funds provide much needed income for young musicians to allow them to continue their training. The branch also supplies them with performance opportunities, so that they can continue to hone their craft. Most recently, the winners of the 2019 ROSL WA Music Prizes at the Western Australian Academy of Performing Arts (WAAPA) performed a special gala concert. Take a look at some of the photos below.

The list of winners and their programmes can be seen below:

Competition Winners:
  • Winner of the ROSL WA Bach Prize, Miranda Murray-Yong (cello) performing Prelude from Cello Suite No.2, Johann Sebastian Bach.
  • Winner of the ROSL WA Improvisation Prize, Oliver Vonlanthen (guitar) and Owen Measday (voice) performing 'in the moment'
  • Joint Winners of the ROSL WA Early Keyboard Prize — Jordan Proctor (foretpiano) performed ii. Adagio ma non troppo from Sonata in D major, Op.3, Cipriani Potter and James Huntingford (fortepiano) performed Fantasia No.2 in C major, Wq. 59/6, Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach.
  • Winners of the ROSL WA Art Song Prize — Alessia Pintabona (soprano) and George Unkovich (piano) Waldesgesprach, Robert Schumann, Sole e amore, Giacomo Puccini, Hier, Francis Poulenc.
  • Winner of the ROSL WA Composition Prize was Callum O'Reilly for his entry III Pieces for Chamber Orchestra and Solo Violin Movement II performed by Daniel Price (violin) and James Huntingford (piano).
  • Winners of the ROSL WA Entrance Scholarships: Jazz, Daniel Drieberg and Julia WallaceClassical, Milly McAuliffe and Talitha Sambell.
  • Joint Winners of the ROSL WA Chamber Music Prize: The Kachny Trio: Daniel Price (violin), Erica Ketterer (viola), Jude Iddison (violin) performed Terzetto in C, Antonin Dvorak i. Introduzione. Allegro ma non troppo and YAAM String Quartet: Yasmin Omran (violin), Adrian Biemmi (violin), Ariel Postmus (viola), Miranda Murray-Yong (cello) performed String Quartet No.8 Dmitri Shostakovich, i. Largo, ii. Allegro molto.
Pin It