The Mithras Trio, made up of Ionel Manciu violin, Leo Popplewell cello and Dominic Degavino piano, last night won the first of two ensembles prizes on offer at this year's Annual Music Competition, beating out the highly-talented competition in the Strings and Piano Ensembles Section Final. 

Taking home the £10,000 first prize, the trio were part of a high quality evening of music making, with four finalists each using their 20-minute programme to show their expertise and artistry to full effect. First up, the Mela Guitar Quartet chose some beautiful repertoire from Bach, Phillip Houghton, and Bryan Johanson to start off the evening the right way.

Following them was the first of two string quartets performing in this Section Final, the Echea Quartet, who chose works by Stravinsky, Haydn and Brahms. 

After the interval, the audience were treated to the only piano trio of the evening, the Mithras Trio, who chose a programme of Arensky and Helen Grime to display their talents.

The final performer, our second string quartet, were the Halcyon Quartet. Their programme of Webern and Shostakovich rounded of the evening's fine performances.

As the judging panel retired to consider their verdict, the audience pondered who their winner might be. In the end, chair of the adjudicators Gavin Henderson announced the Mithras Trio as the winners and recipients of the £10,000 prize. A huge congratulations to Ionel, Leo and Dominic!

Hear them perform again at the Gold Medal Final on 30 May at the Queen Elizabeth Hall. Book your tickets here

Pin It