Recorder player Daniel Scott delighted the audience with a programme combining contemporary and early music in the first section final of the 70th year of the ROSL Annual Music Competition.

Last night, recorder player Daniel Scott became the first section final winner of the competition, taking home £5,000 and claiming the first of four spots in the Gold Medal Final, which this year will take place at Wigmore Hall.

In the 70th year of the Royal Over-Seas League’s Annual Music Competition, four soloists competed in the Wind, Brass & Percussion section final. Daniel Scott recorder, Patrick Bolton bassoon, Aaron Akugbo trumpet and Lewis Graham clarinet delighted the crowd in the packed Princess Alexandra Hall. The adjudicators Sarah Field, Gavin Henderson CBE, Gerard McChrystal and Geoff Parkin had the tough job of choosing the winner and the soloist who will go onto compete for the Gold Medal and a further £15,000.

You can catch up on all the action here:


With such exceptional talent onstage last night, the adjudicators awarded two further prizes to Aaron Akugbo who took home the Philip Jones Memorial Prize for exceptional Brass Playing, £1,000 and clarinettist Lewis Graham was awarded the Sussex Prize for Woodwind for an exceptional woodwind player, also £1,000.

Daniel Scott Solo

Daniel Scott, Recorder - Solo Wind, Brass & Percussion Section final winner

Aaron Akugbo Solo

Aaron Akugbo, Trumpet - Philip Jones memorial prize for an outstanding brass player

Lewis Graham Solo

Lewis Graham, Clarinet - Sussex Prize for Woodwind

Patrick Bolton Solo

Patrick Bolton, Bassoon - Solo Wind, Brass & Percussion Section finalist


ROSL Annual Music Competition Section Finals take place each Tuesday 7-9pm at Over-Seas House, Park Place, St James’s Street, London, SW1A 1LR.

You can book for the upcoming section finals here


Pin It