Rosl ArtsMusic

The ROSL Annual Music Competition is the centrepiece of ROSL ARTS’ year-round programme of events. The competition offers more than £75,000 in awards with a £10,000 first prize for solo performers and two chamber ensemble awards of £10,000. 

This year's section finals held in the Princess Alexandra Hall at ROSL throughout February and March were won by:

·         Wind, brass and percussion - Winner James Buckle bass trombone
·         Singers - Winner Nicholas Mogg baritone
·         Strings - Winner Mathilde Milwidsky violin
·         Keyboard - Winner Dominic Degavino piano
·         Ensemble A (Strings & Keyboard) - Winner Bertram Lynette Piano Duo
·         Ensemble B (Wind and Mixed) - Winner Kabantu
·         Over-Seas Award - Winner Abel Selaocoe cello

The winners of the Wind & Percussion, Singers, Strings, and Keyboard solo sections and the accompanist prize receive £5,000 each. And the four solo section final winners now progress to compete on Wednesday 7 June at Cadogan Hall for the ROSL Gold Medal Prize of £10,000 plus the Manu Bhungara Scholarship of £5,000. 

Tickets £20, ROSL Friends and members £15, students and 2017 competitors £10   Book now

Gold Medal Scholarship

Following a generous legacy received in memory of Mani Bhumgara, the Gold Medal winner will also receive a £5,000 scholarship, administered and mentored by ROSL Arts, to be spent on projects which will help support and build their career.

Roderick Lakin Professional Development Award

ROSL are pleased to announce a new professional development award for singers for the 2017 competition. Awarded by Margaret Lakin, in memory of ROSL’s beloved former Director of Arts, Roderick Lakin MBE, singers who progress to the semi-final round will be invited to outline how they would use an award of £2,500 towards their professional development. This award will be administered and mentored by ROSL Arts and could be used towards international lessons and coachings, courses, residencies and any other activities which are considered of benefit.

The age limit for all competitors is 30. The solo awards are open to UK and Commonwealth citizens, and at least half, or the majority, of ensemble members must also be UK or Commonwealth citizens. 

Gold Medal award winners since 2000 include: Jonathan Lemalu bass-baritone, Juliette Bausor flute, Lucy Crowe soprano, Martin Cousin piano, Amy Dickson saxophone, Timothy Orpen clarinet, John Myerscough cello, Pei-Sian Ng cello, Laura Lucas flute, Ben Schoeman piano, Jonathan McGovernbaritone, Jayson Gillham piano, Morgan Pearse baritone, Huw Wiggin saxophone, Alexander Soarespiano and Emily Sun violin.

The awarding of prizes marks the beginning of a relationship between ROSL and its competition alumni. ROSL ARTS offers where possible, support and mentoring to competition winners, as well as promoting prizewinners' concerts and events throughout the Commonwealth.

If you would like more information about the ROSL Annual Music Competition, please call 020 7408 0214 x 219 or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..