Pianist Tyler Hay won the 64th ROSL Annual Music Competition Section Final for Keyboards on Tuesday 23 February and was awarded the £5,000 prize and sought after place at the Grand Final on 1 June 2016. Tyler’s 20 minute programme of  Valse Oubliée no. 4 - Liszt  and Sonata in B flat minor, Opus 36 no. 2 – Rachmaninov, was a talented and remarkable performance.

Five section finalists were chosen from 33 hopefuls, during three days of auditions; competitors Yuanfan Yang, Eddie Giffney, Neville Bharucha, Iwan Owen and Tyler Hay made for an electric competition. The adjudicators Gavin Henderson, Leslie Howard, Tessa Uys, Sophia Rahman had a difficult decision choosing the performer for the sought after place in the Grand Final and the opportunity to win the Gold Medal prize of £10,000.

Tyler Hay was born and raised in Kent, studying at the Kent Music Academy before gaining a place at the Purcell School for Young Musicians in 2007 where he continued his studies under the Government’s Music and Dance Scheme Scholarship.  Tyler performances have included: Rachmaninoff’s Sonata no 2 at Wigmore Hall, Scriabin 5th Sonata at the Purcell Room and Ravel’s Concerto for Left Hand at the Queen Elizabeth Hall. Tyler is now one of the ABRSM scholars at the Royal Northern College of Music.

Gavin Henderson Chairman of the Adjudicators was delighted to also award the Kerr Memorial Prize for a Young Pianist of Promise, a £1000 prize, to Indian pianist Neville Bharucha . Neville Bharucha started piano lessons at the age of 4, by 16 he was studying at Trinity College London and wining prizes including the Peter Coelho Memorial Award for Music and the Fewkes Memorial Trophy for Outstanding Musician. In 2015 Neville earned his Masters Degree in Piano Performance fro the University of Southampton. Neville is endorsed by Steinway as part of the Young Steinway artist Programme.

ROSL Annual Music Competition Section Finals take place each Tuesday 7-9pm at Over-Seas House, Park Place, St James’s Street, London, SW1A 1LR:

·         2 February: Wind and Percussion – winner Philip Attard saxophone
·         9 February: Singers – winner Henry Neill baritone
·         16 February: Strings – winner Emily Sun violin
·         23 February: Keyboard – winner Tyler Hay piano

·         1 March: Ensemble A (Strings & Keyboard)
·         8 March: Ensemble B (Wind and Mixed)
·         15 March: Over-Seas Award
·         1 June: Grand Final held at Cadogan Hall, London.

Tickets: £15. To book tickets email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or call 020 7408 0214 ext 219

Follow the action on Twitter @ROSLARTS and @ROSL1910
# # #

A selection of high res images  are available on request

For more information contact Gemma Matthews, Director of Marketing on T 020 7016 6904 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. visit www.rosl.org.uk

Founded in 1910, the Royal Over-Seas League (ROSL) is a non-profit private members' club dedicated to championing international friendship and understanding. ROSL helps artists and musicians across the Commonwealth connect, collaborate and create. Our humanitarian work benefits communities and changes lives.

ROSL ARTS supports talented young artists and musicians from the UK and Commonwealth, providing performance and exhibition opportunities which bring their work to the attention of the professional arts community, media and general public.

The ROSL Annual Music Competition grew out of a series of concerts inaugurated at Over-Seas House London in 1947 under the banner ‘Festival of Commonwealth Youth’. The Festival became competitive in 1952, with a first prize of £10. Over the past 60 years the competition has grown in scope and prestige and now awards in excess of £70,000 for solo performers, accompanists and chamber ensembles. Past ROSL prizewinners make an impressive alumni of musicians of the highest calibre who have established prominent careers in the music profession. Past winners of the Keyboard Award are:

Geoffrey Parsons (1953) *

Oswald Russell (1954) *
Audrey Cooper (1958) *
Patsy Toh (1959) *

Yonty Solomon (1960) *
John Lill (1963) *
Enloc Wu (1966) *
David Bollard (1967) *

Dennis Lee (1968) *

 Frank Wibaut (1968) *

Penny Scott (1969) *

Geffrey Tozer (1970) *
Andrew Haigh (1970) *
Andrew Kalanj (1971) *  
Jan Latham Koenig (1971) * Tessa Uys (1972) *
Francis Reneau (1974)
Jonathan Dunsbry (1975) *
Aydin Onac (1977) *
Surendran Reddy (1979) *

Barry Douglas (1979) *

Ian Graukroger (1980)
Simon Shewring (1981)

Piers Lane (1982) *

Jonathan Plowright (1983) *
 Adrian Sims (1984)
Vanessa Latarche (1984)
Malcolm Martineau (1984)
Victor Sangiorgio (1985)
Colin Stone (1986)
Manuel Bagorro (1987)
Read Gainsford (1988)
Alvin Moisey (1989)
Nicholas Unwin (1990)
James Brawn (1991)
Paul Lewis (1992)
Sophia Rahman (1992)
Eryl Lloyd Williams (1993)
Roger Owens (1994)
Ashley Wass (1995) *
Viv Mclean (1996)
Alexander Taylor (1998) *

Stephen de Pledge (1998)
David Quigley (1999)
Simon Lepper (1999)

Tom Poster (2000)
Danny Driver (2001)
Simon Tedeschi (2002)
Martin Cousin (2003) *
Louisa Breen (2004)
Nicola Eimer (2005)
Mateusz Borowiak (2006)
Alistair Beatson (2006)
Daniel de Borah (2007)

Michael Ierace (2008)
Ben Schoeman (2009) *
James Sherlock (2010)
Ashley Fripp (2011)
Jayson Gillham (2012) *
Sophia Dee (2013)
Jan Hugo (2014)
Alexander Soares (2015)*

*indicates Gold Medal Winner

To mark ROSLs centenary in 2010 an appeal was launched to secure the future endowment of the ROSL Annual Music Competition Awards and Commonwealth Music Scholarships, currently worth £125,000 per annum. The funds are held in the ROSL Golden Jubilee Trust (registered charity 306095). To make a donation contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Royal Over-Seas League
Over-Seas House
Park Place
London SW1A 1LR

020 7408 0214

Royal Over-Seas League
Over-Seas House
100 Princes Street
Edinburgh EH2 3AB
0131 225 1501