Consone Quartet won the 64th ROSL Annual Music Competition Section Final for Ensembles A on Tuesday 1 March and was awarded the £10,000 prize.

Four ensembles were chosen from 13 during the auditions process. Ruisi Quartet, Lipatti Piano Quartet, Consone Quartet and Maxwell Quartet delivered a delightful evening of soaring music, which was greatly enjoyed by the audience and adjudicators alike. The adjudicators Alasdair Beatson, Geoffrey Simon and Rodney Slatford were presented with four remarkably poised and polished performances from all ensembles, but it was Consone Quartet’s playing of Haydn’s String Quartet in F minor, Op. 20 No. 5 Moderato, Minuet, Adegio, Finale, Fuga a due soggetti which deservedly won the first prize of £10,000.

Consone Quartet comprises Agata Daraskaite violin, Magdalena Loth-Hill violin, Elitsa Bogdanova viola and George Ross cello. The string quartet is dedicated to exploring and recreating the sound-worlds of the classical and early romantic repertoire through period instrument performance. The quartet's recent success at the finals of the York Early Music International Young Artists Competition brought them the EUBO Development Trust prize and a place on the prestigious European Emerging Ensembles programme, led by the Centre culturel de recontre d'Ambronay. They were invited to perform at the 2015 REMA showcase in Prague and at the 2015 Concerts in the West series.

 The quartet performed for the BBC programme "Between the Ears" which was broadcast on Radio 3. In 2013 the Consone Quartet was awarded the Century Fund Prize in the RCM Historical Performance Competition and have recorded works by Giovanni Antonio Giaj and Daniele Castrovillari with the Ballo Baroque Ensemble.

Consone Quartet will join Ensemble B winners to perform at the Grand Final on 1 June at Cadogan Hall; while the soloist prizewinners compete for the Gold Medal prize of £10,000.

ROSL Annual Music Competition Section Finals take place each Tuesday 7-9pm at Over-Seas House, Park Place, St James’s Street, London, SW1A 1LR:

·       2 February: Wind and Percussion – winner Philip Attard saxophone
·       9 February: Singers – winner Henry Neill baritone
·       16 February: Strings – winner Emily Sun violin
·       23 February: Keyboard – winner Tyler Hay piano
·       1 March: Ensemble A (Strings and Keyboard) – winner Consone Quartet
·       8 March: Ensemble B (Wind and Mixed)
·       15 March: Over-Seas Award
·       1 June: Grand Final held at Cadogan Hall, London.

Tickets: £15. To book tickets email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or call 020 7408 0214 ext 219

Follow the action on Twitter @ROSLARTS and @ROSL1910
# # #

A selection of high res images are available on request
For more information contact Gemma Matthews, Director of Marketing on T 020 7016 6904 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. visit

Founded in 1910, the Royal Over-Seas League (ROSL) is a non-profit private members' club dedicated to championing international friendship and understanding. ROSL helps artists and musicians across the Commonwealth connect, collaborate and create. Our humanitarian work benefits communities and changes lives.

ROSL ARTS supports talented young artists and musicians from the UK and Commonwealth, providing performance and exhibition opportunities which bring their work to the attention of the professional arts community, media and general public.


The ROSL Annual Music Competition grew out of a series of concerts inaugurated at Over-Seas House London in 1947 under the banner ‘Festival of Commonwealth Youth’. The Festival became competitive in 1952, with a first prize of £10. Over the past 60 years the competition has grown in scope and prestige and now awards in excess of £70,000 for solo performers, accompanists and chamber ensembles. Past ROSL prizewinners make an impressive alumni of musicians of the highest calibre who have established prominent careers in the music profession. Past winners of the Keyboard Award are:

Trio Canello (1980)

Mladi Ensemble (1981)

Guildhall String Ensemble (1982)

Marwood String Trio (1983)

Auriol Quartet (1984)

J. & K. Lenehan (1985)

Lisney Piano Trio (1985)

Mistry Quartet (1986)

No Strings Attached (1987) Barbican Piano Trio (1988)
Apollo Quartet (1989)
Techinsky Quartet (1990)

Kreutzer Quartet (1991)

Bone Idols (1992)

Nemo Brass Quartet (1994) Leopold String Trio (1995)

Micallef-Inanga Piano Duo (1996)

BackBeat (1997)

Newbold Piano Quartet (1998) Crawford-Phillips Duo (1999) Tavec Quartet (2000)

Bones Apart (2001)

Eimer Piano Trio (2002)

Bronte Quartet (2003)

Linos Quintet (2004)

Sacconi Quartet (2005), Ensemble na Mara (2006)
Cappa Quartet (2007)
Brodowski Quartet (2008)

Solstice String Quartet (2009) Finzi Quartet (2010)
Cavaleri String Quartet (2011)
The Busch Ensemble (2012)
Françoise-Green Duo (2013) Solem Quartet (2014)
Jackson-Beilby Duo (2015)

To mark ROSLs centenary in 2010 an appeal was launched to secure the future endowment of the ROSL Annual Music Competition Awards and Commonwealth Music Scholarships, currently worth £125,000 per annum. The funds are held in the ROSL Golden Jubilee Trust (registered charity 306095). To make a donation contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Royal Over-Seas League
Over-Seas House
Park Place
London SW1A 1LR

020 7408 0214

Royal Over-Seas League
Over-Seas House
100 Princes Street
Edinburgh EH2 3AB

0131 225 1501