Jacquin Trio won the 64th ROSL Annual Music Competition Section Final for Ensembles B on Tuesday 8 March and was awarded the £10,000 prize.

Four ensembles were chosen from 24 during the auditions process. The Jacquin Trio, Duo Bayanello, the Pelléas Ensemble and Cavendish Winds all played superlatively in previous rounds in order to gain a place in the final, and delivered sparkling and unique performances throughout the evening. It was an interesting decision for the adjudicators Angela Malsbury, Sarah Field and Leslie Neish, given the variety and range of the instruments and repertoire, but it was the Jacquin Trio who took home the prize, for their remarkable interpretation of Schumann, Bruch, Kurtag and Francaix.

Featured in Classical Music Magazine as one of the “front runners taking to the chamber music stage”, the Jacquin Trio – Jessie Grimes clarinet, Kay Stephen viola, Charis Hanning piano – are emerging as persuasive advocates for their distinctive combination of clarinet, viola and piano.

Since winning the St Martin-in-the-Fields Chamber Music Competition in 2012 and becoming Making Music artists, the trio have performed extensively in well-known venues across the UK. Their musicianship has been recognised with awards from the Park Lane Group, the 19th International Chamber Music Competition in Thessaloniki, Greece, the Royal College of Music and the Tunnell Trust, the latter seeing them complete a critically acclaimed tour of Scotland in 2014.

In 2015 the trio received rave reviews for their performances at the Banff Centre’s prestigious summer residency for chamber music.

The Jacquin Trio will join Ensemble A winners, The Consone Quartet, to perform at the Grand Final on 1 June at Cadogan Hall; while the soloist prizewinners compete for the Gold Medal prize of £10,000.

ROSL Annual Music Competition Section Finals take place each Tuesday 7-9pm at Over-Seas House, Park Place, St James’s Street, London, SW1A 1LR:

·         2 February: Wind and Percussion – winner Philip Attard saxophone

·         9 February: Singers – winner Henry Neill baritone

·         16 February: Strings – winner Emily Sun violin

·         23 February: Keyboard – winner Tyler Hay piano

·         1 March: Ensemble A (Strings and Keyboard) – winner Consone Quartet

·         8 March: Ensemble B (Wind and Mixed) – winner Jacquin Trio

·         15 March: Over-Seas Award

·         1 June: Grand Final held at Cadogan Hall, London.

Tickets: £15. To book tickets email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or call 020 7408 0214 ext 219
Follow the action on Twitter @ROSLARTS and @ROSL1910
# # #

For more information contact Gemma Matthews, Director of Marketing on T 020 7016 6904 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. visit www.rosl.org.uk

Founded in 1910, the Royal Over-Seas League (ROSL) is a non-profit private members' club dedicated to championing international friendship and understanding. ROSL helps artists and musicians across the Commonwealth connect, collaborate and create. Our humanitarian work benefits communities and changes lives.

ROSL ARTS supports talented young artists and musicians from the UK and Commonwealth, providing performance and exhibition opportunities which bring their work to the attention of the professional arts community, media and general public.


The ROSL Annual Music Competition grew out of a series of concerts inaugurated at Over-Seas House London in 1947 under the banner ‘Festival of Commonwealth Youth’. The Festival became competitive in 1952, with a first prize of £10. Over the past 60 years the competition has grown in scope and prestige and now awards in excess of £70,000 for solo performers, accompanists and chamber ensembles. Past ROSL prizewinners make an impressive alumni of musicians of the highest calibre who have established prominent careers in the music profession. Past winners of the Keyboard Award are:

Trio Canello (1980)

Mladi Ensemble (1981)

Guildhall String Ensemble (1982)

Marwood String Trio (1983)

Auriol Quartet (1984)

J. & K. Lenehan (1985)

Lisney Piano Trio (1985)

Mistry Quartet (1986)

No Strings Attached (1987) Barbican Piano Trio (1988)
Apollo Quartet (1989)
Techinsky Quartet (1990)

Kreutzer Quartet (1991)

Bone Idols (1992)

Nemo Brass Quartet (1994) Leopold String Trio (1995)

Micallef-Inanga Piano Duo (1996)

BackBeat (1997)

Newbold Piano Quartet (1998) Crawford-Phillips Duo (1999) Tavec Quartet (2000)

Bones Apart (2001)

Eimer Piano Trio (2002)

Bronte Quartet (2003)

Linos Quintet (2004)

Sacconi Quartet (2005), Ensemble na Mara (2006)
Cappa Quartet (2007)
Brodowski Quartet (2008)

Solstice String Quartet (2009) Finzi Quartet (2010)
Cavaleri String Quartet (2011)
The Busch Ensemble (2012)
Françoise-Green Duo (2013) Solem Quartet (2014)
Jackson-Beilby Duo (2015)

To mark ROSLs centenary in 2010 an appeal was launched to secure the future endowment of the ROSL Annual Music Competition Awards and Commonwealth Music Scholarships, currently worth £125,000 per annum. The funds are held in the ROSL Golden Jubilee Trust (registered charity 306095). To make a donation contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.