By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies.


For more information contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

First Prize and Gold Medal Winner
Section Final Winner: Wind, Brass and Percussion

James Buckle / bass trombone

James Buckle


Section Final Winner: Strings

Mathilde Milwidsky / violin

Mathilde Milwidsky


Section Final Winner: Voice

Nicholas Mogg / baritone

Nicholas Mogg


Section Final Winner: Keyboard

Dominic Degavino / piano

Dominic Degavino 4


Lorna Viol Memorial Prize and ROSL Trophy for the most Outstanding Musician from Overseas

Abel Selaocoe / cello

Abel pjs


Ensemble A Section Winner

B-L Piano Duo

Bertram Lynette Piano Duo


Ensemble B Section Winner




Other prizes

ROSL Award for Accompanists: Gamal Khamis and Somi Kim (shared)
Roderick Lakin Professional Development Award for Singers: Jennifer Witton / soprano

Philip Jones Memorial Prize for an outstanding brass player: Tom Poulson / trumpet
Sussex Prize for Woodwind: Justin Sun / bassoon
Audrey Strange Memorial Prize for an outstanding singer of promise: Richard Walsche / bass-baritone
Len Lickorish Memorial Prize for a string player of promise: Emmanuel Bach / violin
Kerr Memorial Prize for a Young Pianist of Promise / Daniel Evans
Elias Fawcett Award for an outstanding Ensemble (shared):
A4 Brass Quartet
Laefer Quartet
Pelleas Ensemble
ROSL Award for an Outstanding Canadian Musician: Scott MacIsaac / piano
Phillip Crawshaw Memorial Prize for an Outstanding Musician from Overseas: Hao Zi Yoh / piano
Tait Memorial Scholarship for an Outstanding Australian Musician: Justin Sun / bassoon
ROSL Award for an Outstanding Australian Musician: Ashlyn Tymms / mezzo-soprano

The 2017 jury were:
Gold Medal final:

Oliver Condy / Editor BBC Music Magazine
Thorben Dittes / Director Royal Northern Sinfonia
Angela Dixon / Chief Executive Saffron Hall
Heather Duncan / Head of Programming Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra
Paul Goodey-Avedisyan / Oboist and composer
Gavin Henderson (Chairman) / Principal Royal Central School of Speech and Drama
Piers Lane / pianist
Jonathan Lemalu / bass-baritone
Geoff Parkin / Director of ROSL Arts
Melissa Phelps / cellist

Section finals:

Juliet Bausor / Principal flautist LPO
Alec Crowe / former head of vocal studies RNCM
Nicholas Daniel / oboist and principal oboe Britten Sinfonia
Amy Dickson / saxophonist
Timothy End / pianist
Thomas Gould / violinst and leader Britten Sinfonia
Janet Hilton / clarinettist
Gillian Keith / soprano
Simon Lepper / piano
Gaby Lester / violinist
Amos Miller / trombonist and principal trombone Royal Ballet Sinfonia
Caroline Palmer / pianist
Gary Pomeroy / violist in the Heath Quartet
Carole Presland / pianist
Tom Randle / tenor
Helen Sherman / mezzo-soprano
Alasdair Tait / chief executive YCAT
Ashley Wass / pianist