For more information contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


First Prize and Gold Medal Winner
Section Final Winner: Wind, Brass and Percussion

Jonathan Radford saxaphone

Jonathan Radford web

Philip Jones Memorial Prize for an outstanding brass player: Christopher Hart trumpet
Sussex Prize for Woodwind: Daniel Shao flute
ROSL Award for a Woodwind Player of Promise: Elliot Gresty clarinet




Section Final winner: Michael Mofidian bass-baritone

Michael Mofidian

Audrey Strange Memorial Prize for an Oustanding Singer of Promise: Katie Stevenson mezzo-soprano




Section final winner: Emmanuel Bach violin

emmanuel bach

Len Lickorish Memorial Prize for a String Player of Promise: Gwenllian Llyr harp




Section final winner: Florian Mitrea piano

Florian Mitrea PC1 8866 sm

Kerr Memorial Prize for a Young Pianist of Promise: Ashok Gupta piano



Ensemble A 

ROSL Award for String/Piano Ensembles: Marmen Quartet

Marmen Quartet 1


Ensemble B 

ROSL Award for Mixed Ensembles: A4 Brass Quartet

A4 Brass 4tet

Other Awards  

ROSL Award for Accompanists: Jâms Coleman

Roderick Lakin Professional Development Award for Singers: Jessica Dandy contralto

Lorna Viol Memorial Prize and ROSL Trophy for the most Outstanding Musician from Overseas: Alexander McFarlane viola

Phillip Crawshaw Memorial Prize for an Oustanding Musician from Overseas: Kieran Rayner baritone

Tait Memorial Scholarship for an Outstanding Australian Musician: Jonathan Ferrucci piano

ROSL Award for an Outstanding New Zealand Musician: Bradley Wood piano


The 2018 jury were:
Gold Medal final:
Gavin Henderson CBE (Chairman) 
Geoff Parkin
Libby Abrahams
Lucy Parham
James Williams
Sarah Field
John Myerscough
Sandra Parr
Sam Jackson
Sally Burgess

Section finals:
Sarah Francis
Timothy Orpen
Jonathan Williams
Nicky Spence
Wendy Dawn Thompson
Audrey Hyland
Simon Lepper
Sarah-Jane Bradley
Peter Manning
Gijs Kramers
Simon Callaghan
Andrew West
Daniel Tong
Ruth Gibson
Alasdair Beatson
Sarah Burnett
Huw Wiggin
Richard Ireland
Catherine Martin
Caroline Palmer
James Baillieu