Solem Quartet and Friends

From June 24, 2020 19:00 until June 24, 2020 21:30


A recital in association with Medical Musical Society of London.


  • Mozart: Duo for violin and viola in G major, K 423 – Martyn Jackson (violin) and Annie Beilby (viola)

  • Peteris Vasks: String quartet No 2, “Summer Tunes” – Solem Quartet

  • Mendelssohn: Octet in E flat major, Op 20 – Solem Quartet, plus Martyn Jackson and Ionel Manciu (violins), Annie Beilby (viola) and Leo Poppelwell (cello)

The prize-winning Solem Quartet joins forces this evening with four other string players for the wonderful Mendelssohn string octet, with the first half divided between works for violin and viola, and for string quartet.

Winner of the 2014 Royal Over-Seas League Ensemble Competition, the Solem Quartet was formed in 2011 at the University of Manchester. The members are: Amy Tress (violin), William Newell (violin), Alistair Vennart (viola) and Stephanie Tress (cello). The quartet takes its name from the university’s motto “arduus ad solem”, meaning “striving towards the sun”.


Tickets include interval drink
General Admission £32
ROSL Members and Friends of ROSL ARTS £25
Supper tickets include interval drink and post-concert buffet

General Admission £62
ROSL Members and Friends of ROSL ARTS £54
Tickets include interval drink