LCMS Concert Series: Raphael Wallfisch & John York

Starting on February 17, 2019 18:30

In the second of our collaborations with the London Chamber Music Society, the famous cello-piano duo of Raphael Wallfisch & John York present a fascinating concert pairing striking 19th-century and early 20th-century works. Their own arrangement of Brahms’s F minor Clarinet Sonata is balanced with Schumann beautiful ‘Romances’ from the late 1840s. The first of Martinů’s cello sonatas, composed in 1939, is paired with Rebecca Clarke’s passionate ‘Rhapsody’ from 1923 – commissioned by Sprague Coolidge, its manuscript languished in the USA Library of Congress for many years until being rediscovered in the 1980s.

Brahms – Sonata for Cello & Piano in F minor Op.120 No.1 (arr. from Clarinet Sonata by Wallfisch & York)
Martinů – Sonata for Cello & Piano No.1 
Schumann – Drei Romanzen Op.94
Rebecca Clarke – Rhapsody for Cello & Piano

Members Accommodation Offer: Come along to the concert and get two nights at the Clubhouse for the price of one! 

17 February 2019 LCMS Concert Book one night in a deluxe double or twin room and get a second night free. Applies to 16 and 17 February.