Rosl ArtsLiterature

The Caine Prize has been awarded annually since 2000 for a short story by an African writer published in English, and is widely recognised as Africa's leading literary award. It is named after Sir Michael Caine, former Chairman of Booker Plc and Chairman of the Booker Prize Management Committee for nearly 25 years. ROSL has been proud to support the Caine Prize since 2001, providing accommodation at Over-Seas House for the finalists during their short stay in London, and hosting the first reading by the authors.

In 2018 we introduced the ROSL Readers' Award, in partnership with the Caine Prize for African Writing, offering ROSL members the chance to support African authors by bringing their writing to a wider audience. For 2019 we are once again asking ROSL members to read the stories and vote for the author to win The ROSL Readers' Award and recieve £1,000, as well as a commission for our very own Overseas Journal.

All the 2019 Caine Prize shortlisted stories can be read via the links below:

Lesley Nneka Arimah, Skinned

Meron Hadero, The Wall

Cherrie Kandie, Sew My Mouth 

Ngwah-Mbo Nana Nkweti, It Takes A Village Some Say

Tochukwu Emmanuel Okafor, All Our Lives


To read more about the writers click here

Click here to cast your Vote for the ROSL Readers' Award 2019


In 2018, the Caine Prize was won by Makena Onjerika with her story Fanta Blackcurrant. Read here.

The 2018 winner of ROSL Readers' Award was Wole Talabi with Wednesday's Story. Read here.

Read the ROSL commission by Wole Talabi in our March - May 2019 magazine 

OS1 2019 thumb