Over-Seas House, London is an amalgamation of two historic properties, Vernon House, built in 1700 and Rutland House, designed by James Gibbs between 1734 and 1740. ROSL purchased Vernon House in 1921 and Rutland House in 1934; adding the Westminster Wing in 1937. The acquisition of these buildings and their development provides ROSL with a fascinating and distinguished clubhouse in the heart of St James's and a garden overlooking Green Park.

Recent projects

We have embarked on a major renovation programme, overseen and approved English Heritage and the Heritage Department of Westminster City Council, to refresh the fabric of the clubhouse while retaining its historic feel and original décor. Since 2012 we have:

2012 Repainted the Willingdon Drawing Room
  Repainted the Mountbatten Room
  Constructed a decked dining area in the Garden
2013 Refurbished the Wrench Room
  Re-plastered and painted the surrounds to the Gibbs Staircase
  Improved the décor and lighting in the Restaurant
2014 Renovated part of the Crinoline Staircase
  Collaborated with our London catering partners, Graysons, to renovate the Brabourne Room (formerly the Buttery) and the Duke of York Bar
  Repaired and upgraded the Park Side lift
2015 Completely renovated the second and third floor Westminster Wing bedrooms
  Constructed the Terrace outside of the Duke of York Bar
  Created a goods delivery lift to improve service access to the club

Extended, rebuilt and updated the Brabourne kitchen

 2016 Began the refurbishment of bedrooms in Vernon House: upgrading bathrooms, climate control and windows. Improving the décor so that it reflects the Edwardian style characteristic of this part of the building.
  Renovated the fourth floor bedrooms 
  Improved disabled access by re-modelling the entrance to the Westminster Wing, with new lifts from the courtyard
2017 Wrench Room completely renovated